The reservation system lets you reserve phone numbers. You can make a reservation for an existing customer or prospect by account number or by optional contact information, such as name, address, phone number, and e-mail. When reservations are assigned to an existing customer in the Order Wizard, reservations by account number are automatically detected while a search is used to find reservations that were made by contact information.
Each reservation consists of reservation detail - one detail per item reserved. A single reservation can span across inventories and inventory classes. Status is tracked by inventories and inventory classes. IDI reservations and reservation details function in a manner similar to the process used for making a hotel reservation. For example, a customer can make a reservation for several hotel rooms where the reservation is in the customer’s name and the reservation details are the room numbers.
Reservation detail statuses can be any of the following:
Unconfirmed | Reserved, but not yet assigned. |
Confirmed | Reservation is Assigned. |
Expired | Reservation interval has passed and the item is made available in inventory. |
Canceled | Reservation is canceled, either by you or by the system, because the item is not going to be assigned. |
Reservation statuses can be any of the following:
In-Progress | One or more reservation details have a detail status of Unconfirmed. |
Completed | All reservation details have a status of Confirmed, Expired, or Canceled. |
When reservations expire, their status automatically changes to Available or Not Available, depending upon the inventory class. If the reservation interval is set to zero, the status changes immediately.
You can change the Available Date and/or reservation interval assigned to a reservation. If you change the Available Date to the current date or earlier, the system automatically expires the reservation and makes the item available. You can also cancel a reservation at any time using the Cancel Reservation and Bulk Cancel Reservation menu items.
Reservations are deleted once they have been completed for 30 days.
See:
Making Service Number Reservations