This lets you add, edit, and delete device statuses, and set one of the statuses as the default. Access to these functions is via Applications > BackOffice Management > Device Management > Device Statuses. This displays the Device Statuses grid.

Note
Access to this grid and the available context menu options is dependent upon which permissions are enabled in your profile.
Several device statuses (Active, Inactive and Stolen) are standard (system-defined). These statuses cannot be deleted; however, you can select one of them to be the default device status and you can toggle the Is Assignable setting via the edit dialog.
Adding/Editing a Device Status
You can add and edit custom device statuses as needed. To add, right-click anywhere in the grid and choose New from the context menu. To edit, right-click on the applicable row and choose Edit from the context menu. Enter a Description (name) and check whether or not to make the status assignable. Is assignable means users can set the status as needed. If this setting is not selected, only the system can set the status on a device.

When you edit a standard (system-defined) status, you can toggle the Is Assignable setting, but you cannot edit the Description.
Deleting a Status
To delete a device status, right click on the row and choose Delete from the context menu.
Note
This option is not available for system-defined statuses.
Setting a Status as the Default
To set a device status as the default, right click on the row and choose Make Default from the context menu.
Note
This option is not available for statuses that are not made assignable.