IDI version 26.8 is now available.  Click here for details: IDI Updates.

Forced Journal Entries

Prev Next

The IDI platform enables you to configure the system, based on certain criteria, so that journal entries are created when accessing customer accounts. These entries are known as “forced” journal entries. They ensure more accurate records for customer account activity.

Forced Journal entries will display in the IDI Desktop Client if configured in the Admin Console, and if your user permission profile requires it: CostGuard Client > Customer Management > Customers > Forced Journal Entry.

Depending on the settings, you may be forced to update a journal entry when the Customer Info window is saved. You may also configure this functionality to create a forced journal on opening a customer’s account without prompting for journal information. For example, users may want to track every instance when a service representative opens a customer account by simply adding a journal without making users take the time to enter new journal information.

Notes:

  • You will be required to enter a journal at one or more of these points if the Force Journal Entry setting is turned on in your user profile.

  • If the system is configured to force journal entries, and your user permissions require them, a forced journal entry window is displayed each time any one of the three actions, described above, is performed. The window displayed looks like the other Journal windows, but the title is displayed as follows: Please update the journal before exiting.

  • Complete the information in the journal form, as appropriate, and click Save to save the entry and exit the window. (For details on completing this form, see “Modifying a Journal Entry” in the Journal Entries chapter of the documentation.)

    Notes:

  • If a forced journal has already been entered, from either exiting the Customer Info screen or an Order Wizard, you will not be forced to enter another journal when closing the Customer window. However, if you keep the Customer Info screen open and open a Wizard or Edit Customer Info screen more than once, you will be forced to make an entry each time those screens are closed, as the system assumes you are performing a new change or edit each time.

  • Regardless of whether any changes have been made, a forced journal is required before closing or canceling out of the Edit Customer Info or Customer window (if user profile is set to Force Journals).
    A forced journal is not required if cancelling out of a Wizard. However, a forced entry is required when submitting an order (if user profile is set to force journals).

    Each of the forced journal entries appears as a temporary placeholder journal on the Journals tab.

    Forced Journal Entry Placeholder

    Select the Journals tab to open and update the placeholder journal before being prompted. The following message, “Please update the journal before exiting” is no longer displayed in the journal window when performing any of the actions which require forced journals.