This controls whether or not you can access the configuration form. If this permission is disabled, the menu item is not available in the menu.
If this permission is enabled but the Modify permission below is disabled, you have read-only access to the configuration form, with the exception of the Manage Templates link. Access to Usage Notification templates is controlled by the Customer Notification > Manage Templates permissions.