IDI version 26.8 is now available.  Click here for details: IDI Updates.

Starting/Pausing/Resuming/Cancelling Workflows

Prev Next

You can change the status of a workflow from either the Overview or Layout page. You can access the Overview and Layout pages by several means, such as Search or My Workflows.

Both pages have a Status Indicator in the upper right corner that also serves as a drop down menu with valid status change options based on the current status. .

Show Picture

Overview Page

UG template for Help

Layout Page

UG template for Help

Note

After making a status change, press F5 to refresh the screen.

Below is a summary of a Workflows possible statuses and how you can manage those statuses:

Status

Considerations

Possible Status Changes

In Progress

Place Workflow On Hold

Force Cancel Workflow

Waiting

Workflows are placed in Waiting status when they are created and not started at that time.

This lets you make changes to Tasks within the Workflow including the configured durations.

If you change the duration of a Task before the Workflow is started, the baseline reflects that change.

If you wait to change the duration of a Task after the Workflow has started, the baseline is based on the default duration in the definition.

Start Workflow

Place Workflow on Hold

Force Cancel Workflow

On Hold

When a Workflow is on hold, the properties on an existing Task can be changed.

When you place a Workflow on hold, the Change Status dialog gives you the option to auto resume the Workflow rather than requiring manual intervention. See below.

Resume Workflow

Auto Resume Workflow

Force Cancel Workflow

In Error

Place Workflow on Hold

Force Cancel Workflow

Completed

None

Cancelled

None

Auto Resume

This lets you configure the system to automatically request that the workflow be taken off hold and update the workflow status accordingly. Changing a Workflow status to Auto Resume requires Manage Workflow Instances permission.

When you choose to place a Workflow on hold, the Change Status diialog provides an option to Enable Auto Resume. Checking that checkbox provides settings for specifying when to auto resume the Workflow.

Show Picture

UG template for Help

Both the Duration and Auto Resume Date fields are required. The Auto Resume time is a result of adding Duration (e.g 3 days) to the Auto Resume Date (e.g. 09/27/2017 10:00 AM).  In this case, the Workflow will auto resume on 9/30/2017 at 10:00 AM.

Duration consists of an integer and time interval (Days or Hours). The integer default is zero.  You can override the default with any whole number greater than or equal to zero. The time interval default is Day(s).  Users can override the default by selecting Hours from the drop-down list.

Auto Resume Date consists of a date and time.  There is no default for this field.  

Once Auto Resume is configured, the system will display the auto resume date on the Workflow Search, My Workflows, Workflow Overview and Workflow Layout pages. 

Show Picture

Workflow Search

UG template for Help

Layout

UG template for Help