IDI version 26.8 is now available.  Click here for details: IDI Updates.

Setup

Prev Next

The following setup is required prior to using Partner Portal functionality:

  • Sales associates and managers need to be assigned the permissions they’ll need to perform their respective functions.

  • Sales associates and managers need to be assigned to IDI platform Users and User Groups.

  • Document Categories need to be set up in the Document Storage application. When a manager adds a resource file to be used in the Partner Portal, they can select a category for the resource file. Added files are stored in Document Storage.

  • As an option you can specify a custom name for the Partner Portal page. The name defaults to Partner Portal. The setting for renaming the page is available in Customer Care via MANAGE > Settings > General > Partner Portal Name.

Permissions

The following table provides guidelines for assigning roles and permissions for sales associates and managers.

Function

Permission

User

Ability to view account summary information via the Partner Portal.

Note

Managers with Manage Sales Associates permission have view capability by virtue of their Manage permission as described below.

View Agent Portal

Sales associates

View items in their respective web applications:

  • View an Account in Customer Care

  • View a Ticket in Tickets

  • View an Order in Orders

  • View a non-confidential document in Document Storage

  • View an order workflow in Workflow

Respective Allow Log On permissions

Sales associates and managers

View a confidential document in Document Storage

View Confidential Documents

Sales associates and managers

Configure Resources and Notices

Manage Sales Associates

Managers

Configure quicklinks

Manage Quicklinks (in Customer Care)

Managers

Restrict access to sensitive information

See below

Sales associates

Notes:

  • Customer Care comes with the pre-configured Customer Care Sales Agent role. This role contains the Customer Care Allow Log On permission and the View Agent Portal permission.

  • The Manage Sales Associates permission has been added to the Customer Care Admin delivered role.

Assigning Sales Entities to IDI platform User's and User Groups

Sales entities (associates and managers) are associated to IDI platform Users and those Users are assigned to Groups in Admin Console Security > Users.

(Show Picture)

This is standard IDI platform User Management functionality. Refer to Admin Console online help for details.

Note

This is also needed to ensure sales associates can see and use quicklinks in their respective portals. (Access to a quicklink is configured to either be global or for a selected User Group.)

Setting Up Document Categories in Document Storage

When managers add a resource file to be used in the Partner Portal, they can select a category for the resource file. These categories are set up in the Document Storage web application. Refer to Document Storage web help for details.

(Show Picture)

Restricting Access to Sensitive Information

Prior to version 20.6, access to Customer Care was controlled by a single Allow Log On permission. With version 20.6 three new permissions let you restrict access to sensitive customer information on a more granular basis:

  • View Internal Journals - This grants access to journals and follow-ups marked as Internal Only on the follow-ups and journals screens and in the respective Infocenters.

  • View CPNI Information - This grants access to CPNI information on the Customer Summary, Customer Details and Verify CPNI pages.

  • View Communications - This grants access to Communications information in the Infocenter, and on the Communications page and the menu bar.

    Note

    On upgrading to version 20.6 the Allow Log On permission will no longer grant access to view Communications, Internal Journals and CPNI information; however, users will still have the same access to this information. By default all three permissions are included in every role with Allow Log On permission. As all roles have Allow Log On permission, initially all users will have unrestricted access. Following upgrade, you can restrict access to specific information for certain user types, by removing the applicable permission(s) from existing roles as needed.

    (Show Picture)