IDI version 26.8 is now available.  Click here for details: IDI Updates.

Reconnecting a Single Feature

Prev Next

To reconnect a single feature

  1. Select the Features or Services tab.

  2. Right-click on a disconnected feature and click Reconnect. This starts the Reconnect Features Wizard and displays the Reconnect Order Information window.

    UG template for Help

  3. Select the Order Type, Source code, Estimated Completion, and Sales Channel information from the drop-down lists.

  4. Select a Reconnect Method.

  5. Select a Reconnect from Disconnect Order Option.

  6. Select Reconnect Final Billed Items if you need to reconnect final billed items as part of this order. Selecting this option also makes the following options available for selection:

    • Restart Final Billing Charges – This updates the start date on recurring billing charges to the reconnection date, giving you an option to bill for a partial month of service and recoup additional revenue. Note:If you only choose Reconnect Final Billed Items and not this option as well, the system will continue billing the monthly charges as if the service was never disconnected and will not prorate the customer for a partial month of service.

    • Exclude Final Billed One-time Charges – This option lets you exclude reconnecting previously invoiced one time charges, such as setup or installation charges. If this option is not selected, the reconnection process will reconnect and bill for a customer’s one-time charges.

    Click for more on how to use these options.

    here

    These options give you the flexibility to determine how the system restarts final billed products and facilitate returning the customer's service to its original state::

    • Exclude Final Billed One-time Charges

    • Restart Final Billed Charges

      UG template for Help

      Note

      These new options are not selectable unless the Reconnect Final Billed Items option is selected.

    Exclude Final Billed One-Time Charges

    When this option is enabled, the system excludes reconnecting or restarting previously invoiced one-time charges, such as installation or setup charges. This option:

    • Excludes installment plans. Installment plans are technically one-time charges but will be reconnected since the installments are billed monthly.

    • Honors both service and account level one-time charges.

      The option evaluates service-level one-time charges for service reconnects, and account-level charges for account reconnects. If this option is not selected, the system will reconnect and bill for the one-time charges.

      Note

      Use the Reverse Service Penalties workflow action to push out the installment plan dates to account for the time the installment plan was disconnected.

    Restart (Recurring) Final Billed Charges

    If you prorate recurring charges, this option lets you bill for a partial month of service on reconnection, and bill for the total time the service was active. The system will update or restart the start date on all recurring charge catalog items to the reconnection date. Other catalog items such as a Service, Contract, Retail Product, Pricing Plan, etc., will retain their original start date for historical purposes.

    When this option is enabled, the start dates on recurring charges are updated when the reconnect order is completed. This option will:

    • Update feature start dates to the reconnect date. Note: Once the reconnect order is completed, both original and new start dates are displayed on feature details as shown in Display of New and Original Start Date below.

    • Remove the feature disconnect date.

    • Remove the feature Invoice # (invoice on which the feature was first billed) and Final Invoice Number (an indication the feature has been final-billed after disconnect so as not to bill again). This is required to let billing resume for the feature.

      Only these catalog items are restarted:

    • Catalog Type = Product or Package

    • Charge Cycle is not equal to None or Once

      Note

      Items marked as installment plans are not restarted so the system can maintain the installment plan schedule. Use the Reverse Service Penalties workflow action, delivered in 22.3, to push out the installment plan dates to account for the time the installment plan was disconnected

      All other product types will retain the original start dates: Service, Discount, Pricing Plan, Contract, Contract Penalty, Retail Product, One Time and Installment Products, Product or Package with a Charge Cycle of None.

      The option evaluates service-level recurring charges for service reconnects and account-level recurring charges for account reconnects.

      When you choose Restart Final Billed Billing Items and then proceed by clicking Finish, a prompt will inform you the start date on billing charges will be reset to the date of this order and all other items will be reconnected with this start date. You’ll need to click Yes to proceed.

    Display of New and Original Start Date

    When the reconnect is complete, the feature detail views will show the original and new (reconnect) start dates. The Original field is only shown if the start date has been updated.

    Reverse Service Fees Workflow Action

    The Reverse Service Penalties action in Workflow supports reversing penalties applied during final billing when reconnecting an account or service. The action lets you configure the number of days the account or service is eligible for reversal of penalties (Eligibility Days). You can also configure the Disconnect Reason to reverse Early Termination Fees (ETFs) associated with contract penalties, the Adjustment Type used to reverse ETFs, and Adjustment Type to reverse Installment plan balances. Details are provided in the article for restoring a service after disconnect for non-payment in the IDI Knowledge Center.

  7. Click Finish to submit the order.

    OR

    Select Review Order Before Submitting and click Next. Review your order and then click Finish.