IDI version 26.8 is now available.  Click here for details: IDI Updates.

Extended Data Templates

Prev Next

Extended Data can be added to a Workflow Definition either as a one-off item or as a linked Extended Data Templates. Templates are reusable, shared extended data definitions.

Choose CONFIGURE > Extended Data Templates on the Workflow menu to open the Configure Extended Data Templates page.  

(Show Picture)

UG template for Help

From here you can add, modify and delete Extended Data Templates. The Available Templates area displays existing Extended Data Templates.

You can filter the Available Templates list to limit the number shown by entering a full or partial name and clicking SEARCH.

Managing Existing Templates

To view and edit a Template configuration, select its Name. The configuration details are then displayed on the right side of the page.

To delete a Template, hover over the last column of that template's name and click the remove button RedXRemoveButton. A confirmation is displayed. Click OK to remove the template.

Note

If an Extended Data Template is (or has ever been) assigned to a Task, it cannot be deleted.

Adding Templates

To create a Template:

  1. Click Create Template.

    (Show picture)

    UG template for Help

    This displays the configuration fields on the right side of the page.

    (Show picture)

    UG template for Help

  2. Enter a Name (required) and Description (optional).

  3. Enter a Field Label for the template.

    Note

    The Field Label is what you'll see in drop down menus rather than the name assigned to the Template.

  4. Enter a Default Value (optional).

  5. Select the Type. Type specifies the kind of data the template will hold (Integer, Text, date & Time, yes/No, etc...) If you select List as the Template Type, you'll need to select the List from the additional drop down menu provided. .

    Show Picture

    UG template for Help

  6. Use the Active check box to select whether or not the template will be available in drop down menus when you are working with Workflow Definitions. If Active is not checked the template will not be available.

  7. Click SAVE.