--- title: "Adding/Editing a Follow-Up" slug: "adding-editing-a-follow-up" updated: 2026-08-10T20:23:30Z published: 2026-08-10T20:23:30Z canonical: "help.idibilling.com/adding-editing-a-follow-up" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.idibilling.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Adding/Editing a Follow-Up To add a new follow-up or edit existing follow-ups, the **New** and **Edit** follow-up permissions must be enabled in your Permission Profile. See [Follow-Up Permissions](/v1/docs/follow-ups). To add or edit a follow-up: 1. Perform a customer search and open the Customer window for a specific customer account. See [Accessing Customer Management Records](/v1/docs/accessing-customer-management-records-customer-search). 2. Click the **Journals** tab (or **Follow-up** tab or **Troubles** tab if applicable). 3. To add a new follow-up, right-click on any row and select **New > Follow-Up**. OR To edit an existing follow-up, right-click on the follow-up and select **Edit > Follow-Up**. This displays the New (or Edit or View) Follow-Up window. The contents and operation are essentially the same for all. Differences are described as applicable. ![UG template for Help](https://cdn.us.document360.io/3f7f8ade-bcb1-4ec8-af25-0c0ad8601afb/Images/Documentation/61930.gif?sv=2026-02-06&spr=https&st=2026-11-14T10%3A49%3A40Z&se=2026-11-14T11%3A49%3A40Z&sr=c&sp=r&sig=zWwQBqZj3sOr5rG5%2FTyuwgVb%2F8zlan2D7rXSD0hupjI%3D) 4. Enter/edit the follow-up information as described below: | ID | This field is blank for new follow-ups. When you click **Save** to create a follow-up, the system automatically assigns a unique ID to the follow-up. | | --- | --- | | Reference To | The system automatically populates this field: - If the follow-up is created at the customer level, this field is populated with the customer account number. - If the follow-up is assigned to a trouble ticket, this field is populated with the trouble ticket ID. | | Customer Name | This field is not available when creating a new follow-up. Once the follow-up is created it displays the name of the customer if the follow-up is associated with a specific customer. | | Follow-Up Type | Select a follow-up type from the drop-down list. | | Follow-Up Status | Select the follow-up status from the drop-down list. | | Assigned To | For all follow-up types except auto-assign, select a person or group. This defaults to the person who entered the follow-up. To change, click the ellipsis button to display the Select User dialog. From here you can select either a user or user group. You may filter the User and User group lists to facilitate selection as needed. For auto-assign follow-ups, this field is disabled and the Assign To user group is displayed in it. You can override the auto-assign setting and enable this field by clearing the **Auto-Assign This Follow-up** check box as described below. | | Follow-Up Date | Date the person/group assigned to this follow-up needs to take action on this follow-up. This defaults to the current date. To change the date, click on the drop-down arrow and select a different date. | | Close Date | This field is blank until the follow-up is closed. The system automatically populates the Close Date when the follow-up is closed. | | Close Question | If a customer's task plan requires the follow-up closer to answer a question before closing, the system automatically populates this field with the question when the close operation is initiated. | | Close Answer | If a customer's task plan requires the follow-up closer to answer a question before closing, the system automatically populates this field with the answer selected when the follow-up is closed. | | Display on Customer Summary Tab | Check this box if you want this follow-up to be displayed on the **Summary** tab. | | Description | Enter a description for the new follow-up (maximum of 4000 characters). The first few words will appear on the **Journals** tab. To start a new line, after entering text, hold down the Ctrl + Enter keys. If you press the Enter key alone, it automatically closes the window. > [!NOTE] > Note > > To edit this field, both **Edit** and **Edit Description** must be enabled in your Permission Profile. | | Auto-Assign This Follow-up | This check box is only available for auto-assign follow-ups. The box is checked by default and the Assign To field is disabled. You can override auto-assign and enable the Assign To field by clearing this check box. When the check box is cleared, the selection in the Assigned To field reverts to the last value that was manually selected, or to the default value (the name of the current user) if no selection has been made. | | Entered By | This field is only provided in the Edit Follow-up window. It indicates the ID of the user that created this follow-up, followed by the date and time the follow-up was created. | | Last Modified By | This field is only provided in the Edit Follow-up window. It indicates the ID of the user that last modified this follow-up, followed by the date and time of the last modification. | 5. Click **Save** when you are finished. > [!NOTE] > Note > > You can add follow-ups from the **Summary** tab on the Customer # window. If you do not check the “Display on Customer Summary Tab" check box when you create a follow-up, the follow-up will not be displayed on the **Summary** tab. It will only be displayed on the **Journals** tab.